Fresno DUI Attorney | Fresno DUI lawyer
Information and common questions
I got a DUI in Fresno, and want to know how long I will have to attend DUI classes? How much will DUI classes cost?Where do I sign up for DUI classes in Fresno?
These are all common questions people have when cited for DUI. Fresno Based Lawyer Jonathan Rooker has very specific training and education regarding DUI's.
If you are convicted of DUI in California Driving Under the Influence (DUI) convictions in Fresno may result in one or more of the following punishment. Fines, Jail, Adult Offender Work Program, and license suspensions are common sentences for a DUI conviction. One of the requirements to regain you driving privilege from the California Department of Motor Vehicles is that you enroll, or complete a DUI Class Program. These programs are designed to facilitate an educational function, assisting offenders to learn the dangers of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. How long of a DUI Program do I have to enroll in? The length of the program you are required to attend can vary greatly. Factors such as the BAC, priors, and whether or not you are convicted of Driving Under the Influence, or Wet & Reckless determine which program you must enroll in Wet & Reckless:
Wet & Reckless: If you have been convicted of reckless driving that included having a measurable amount of alcohol in your system, you will be required to complete a 12-hour DUI education program. The cost of the program is a total of approximately $369
1st offense DUI: Typically, if you have been convicted of your first DUI, you will be required to attend a 13-week program. The Cost of the 13-week program is approximately $562.
1st Offense with BAC of .20% or greater: If your BAC was .20% or greater, then you will be required to complete a 9-month, 60-hour program.
2nd or Subsequent Offense: If you have prior offenses of DUI or wet & Reckless you will be required to complete an 18-month DUI program. You will be required to attend biweekly individual interviews with program personnel for the first 12 months of the program. This is a strenuous program, and will require dedication, attendance, and considerable cost. The cost of he program is $1,452.
Additional Programs: Depending on which county your violation occurred in, you may be sentenced to a 30-month program.
Should I Hire A DUI Defense Attorney?
This is one of many questions that people commonly ponder after and arrest for a DUI. In order to receive the best opportunity for representation, it is important that you contact an experienced Attorney with the proper education for defending DUI charges as soon as possible after you are arrested. There is more to defending DUI's than win/lose, the severity of the charge, priors alleged, punishment, fines, and classes can be reduced with proper representation. Talk with whichever attorney you contact, and ask if he has experience and education to assist you. Some questions depending on your case may be:
How do they prosecute a DUI and How can you defend a DUI?
If you think about what will be used to prosecute a DUI Charge, it is often driving pattern, statements, Field Sobriety Test Results, and a Chemical test by Breath, Blood, or in rare situations, Urine. When defending a DUI, you must be able to effectively cross examine an officer as to all aspects of the case. In trial, and expert will often be brought in by the prosecution, usually someone who works as a criminalist at the Department of Justice. Now, when defending a case, you must look for an Attorney who can effectively present evidence, and cross examine the governments witnesses. In a DUI case, the attorney should know about the driving patter, applicable vehicle codes, and the probable cause for the stop. Next, as part of the officers training, after the stop, he must decide whether to have the subject exit the vehicle. He is trained to look for certain clues of impairment. They often include only the justification for their decision to have a subject exit the vehicle in their report, but there could be many clues that would be used to show this decision was not based on all the facts. In short, present the aspects of the case that favor your position. Next, the Field Sobriety Tests. The officers tend to only report the clues of intoxication that were exhibited, but leave out what the subject did correctly. They often include factors that are not part of the standardized field sobriety test's standardized clues. If your attorney knows what to look for, he can effectively cross examine the officer, and show the factors that indicate you were not impaired. Finally Chemical testing. Title 17 governs the reporting of Blood Alcohol Concentrations in the state of California. There are many questions that a well trained DUI Attorney can ask. Also, if the attorney is trained in chromatography, he can review the chromatograms, and look for errors in the test. The breath machine is another area of evidence that can be effectively cross examined, by and educated DUI Attorney. Body temperature, Hematacrit levels, lung volume, absorption rate, sex, height, weight ... are all factors in the accuracy, or inaccuracy of a breath machine's conversion to blood alcohol level. Does your attorney have training, experience, and education regarding these factors?
Have you attended a Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) training certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)?
Have you attended a NHTSA SFST Instructors Course?
Have you been trained on Gas Chromatography? If so, where?
Have you received education and/or training on Breathalyzer machine used? If so, where?
Are you aware of the chemical and biological factors that can influence the results of a breathalyzer?
Has your prospective DUI Defense Attorney completed and Advanced Roadside Impairment Detection Enforcement (ARIDE) Course?
At the Law Office of Joathan Rooker, the answer to the above questions is YES!
For a Free Consultation Call Fresno DUI Lawyer
Return to Criminal Defense Home Page
Where do Find my DUI Classes at?
Kings View alcohol Programs in Fresno can be reached at 559-277-9880 to sign up for DUI classes. For more information click here: Kings View Alcohol Center and DUI Classes